Skip to Content


There are 88 official constellations. The constellations are spread throughout the whole celestial sphere, the imaginary sphere in space that surrounds the Earth. Constellations are visible on any clear night. the particular constellations you can see depends on your location, the time of year, and the time of night. As the Earth makes its daily rotation about its axis and its yearly revolution around the sun, the celestial sphere appears to shift. As a result, different constellations come into view.

  1. Andromeda (The Princess)
  2. Antlia (The Air Pump)
  3. Apus (The Bird of Paradise)
  4. Aquarius (The Water Bearer)
  5. Aquila (The Eagle)
  6. Ara (The Altar)
  7. Aries (The Ram)
  8. Auriga (The Charioteer)
  9. Bootes (The Herdsman)
  10. Caelum (The Sculptor’s Chisel)
  11. Camelopardalis (The Giraffe)
  12. Cancer (The Crab)
  13. Canes Venatici (The Hunting Dogs)
  14. Canis Major (The Great Dog)
  15. Canis Minor (The Lesser Dog)
  16. Capricornus (The Sea Goat)
  17. Carina (The Keel of the Ship Argo)
  18. Cassiopeia (The Queen and Wife of Cepheus)
  19. Centaurus (The Centaur)
  20. Cepheus (The King of Ethiopia)
  21. Cetus (The Sea Monster)
  22. Chamaeleon (The Chameleon)
  23. Circinus (The Compasses)
  24. Columba (The Dove)
  25. Coma Berenices (The Hair or Bernice)
  26. Corona Australis (The Southern Crown)
  27. Corona Borealis (The Northern Crown)
  28. Corvus (The Crow)
  29. Crater (The Cup)
  30. Crux (The Southern Cross)
  31. Cygnus (The Swan)
  32. Delphinus (The Dolphin)
  33. Dorado (The Goldfish)
  34. Draco (The Dragon)
  35. Equuleus (The Little Horse)
  36. Eridanus (The River)
  37. Fornax (The Furnace)
  38. Gemini (The Twins)
  39. Grus (The Crane)
  40. Hercules (Hercules the Warrior)
  41. Horologium (The Clock)
  42. Hydra (The Water Serpent)
  43. Hydrus (The Water Snake)
  44. Indus (The American Indian)
  45. Lacerta (The Lizard)
  46. Leo (The Lion)
  47. Leo Minor (The Lion Cub)
  48. Lepus (The Hair)
  49. Libra (The Scales)
  50. Lupus (The Wolf)
  51. Lynx (The Lynx)
  52. Lyra (The Lyre)
  53. Mensa (The Table Mountain)
  54. Microscopium (The Microscope)
  55. Monoceros (The Unicorn)
  56. Musca (The Fly)
  57. Norma (The Carpenter’s Square)
  58. Octans (The Octant)
  59. Ophiuchus (The Serpent Bearer)
  60. Orion (The Hunter)
  61. Pavo (The Peacock)
  62. Pegasus (The Winged Horse)
  63. Perseus (The Hero, rescuer of Andromeda)
  64. Phoenix (The Pheonix)
  65. Pictor (The Painter’s Easel)
  66. Pisces (The Fishes)
  67. Piscis Austrinus (The Southern Fish)
  68. Puppis (The Stern of the ship Argo)
  69. Pyxis (The Compass Box)
  70. Reticulum (The Net)
  71. Sagitta (The Arrow)
  72. Sagittarius (The Archer)
  73. Scorpius (The Scorpion)
  74. Sculptor (The Sculptor)
  75. Scutum (The Shield)
  76. Serpens (The Serpent)
  77. Sextans (The Sextant)
  78. Taurus (The Bull)
  79. Telescopium (The Telescope)
  80. Triangulum (The Triangle)
  81. Triangulum Australe (The Southern Triangle)
  82. Tucana (The Toucan)
  83. Ursa Major (The Great Bear)
  84. Ursa Minor (The Little Bear)
  85. Vela (The Sail of the ship Argo)
  86. Virgo (The Virgin)
  87. Volans (The Flying Fish)
  88. Vulpecula (The Fox)